logo
. facebook . gif twitter . pinterest .Flag fr

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Home > History > Amiens

 

 

Soldiers at Amiens city

 

Amiens city was a central place for many soldiers who fought in Somme battlefields, during the first war. A few of them, also took part in the local trade in the downtown near the famous cathedral. We can imagine the life at this time, with some pictures...

 

M. George EDWARDS

George was driver in the 2nd Mechanical Transport Company like M. Harry HARTLEY but he was enrolled in the 3rd auxiliary mechanical transport company.

lieutenants sidecard

 

M. George EDWARDS married at Amiens cathedral with Miss Sueur native to Doullens town, managed a hotel known in the past under the name Hotel LAMARTINE nearest the Alexandre Fatton street. He worked with Delaporte beer, manufactured at Amiens also.

This research was initiate by Mrs Louise DESSAIVRE from Amiens Cathedral friends, in order to find more information about the wedding in the Cathedral and family. My friend Helen CASTLE helped us to find the portrait of M. EDWARDS and M. Mickael FIECHTNER provided us, by an happy coincidence the graffiti photo of the underground caves of Naours done by George.

 

M. Roland Goddard

Roland was enlisted the 22 September 1914 in the Depot Unit of Supply 2. He embarked the 22 December 1914, on board HMAT A35 Berrima. He survived the landing of Gallipoli and he had been wounded during the first war at Villers-Bretonneux. For the 2nd world war, he served as liaison officer with the British army.

Roland Goddard led several businesses in Amiens region. He managed a shop at Villers-Bretonneux called "To the city of Melbourne", it was a clothing shop.

He runned later a trade in the Amiens market for children’s clothing. The shop was called: "To the Temptation of the Mothers".

When the Germans were invading France, he had leave everything he owned. Later, he opened the Anzac Hotel based at Amiens near the station after the second world war. The hotel, street Debray was a pleasant hotel and his wife Isobel cooked delicious dishes there.

The reconstruction of this story has been possible after a few exchanges with the family. Thank you Jeff for this sharing.

shop at Villers-Bretonneux

Clothing shop at Villers-Bretonneux. "To the city of Melbourne !"

Amiens-trade

Roland and his wife. You can read on the truck: "Pour Enfant" : for children and below "confectionn├ęs": handcrafted.. The shop was located in the market place of Amiens. In my humble opinion near the belfry, place long been known for be the market center, even it was rebuilt further after the war.

rg

Roland GODDARD

rue-Debray

The grey door was the entrance hotel.

Logo Vignacourt
. Google facebook pinterest English version

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

History > Amiens city

 

Soldats à Amiens et la région durant la guerre

 

La ville d'Amiens était une place centrale pour beaucoup de soldats ayant combattu dans les champs de batailles de la Somme, durant la première guerre mondiale. Quelques uns d'entre-eux, ont pris part aussi au commerce local dans le centre-ville près de la fameuse cathédrale. Nous pouvons imaginer la vie à cette époque là avec quelques photos...

 

M. George EDWARDS

George était chauffeur dans la seconde Compagnie de transport Mécanique comme Harry HARTLEY mais il faisait partie de la 3ème unité auxiliaire de la Mechanical Transport company.

lieutenants sidecard

M. George EDWARDS s'est marrié à la cathédrale d'Amiens avec Melle Sueur originaire de la ville de Doullens. Ils ont gérés un hôtel connu autrefois sous le nom de Hotel LAMARTINE près de la rue Alexandre Fatton. Ils vendaient de la bière Delaporte, fabriquée à Amiens aussi.

Cette recherche a été initiée par Mme Louise DESSAIVRE pour l'association de la Cathédrale d'Amiens, dans le but de trouver plus d'information sur ce mariage à la Cathédrale et la famille. Mon amie Helen CASTLE nous a aidé à trouver le portrait de M. M. EDWARDS et M. Mickael FIECHTNER nous a fournit, par un heureux hazard, la photo du graffiti prise dans les grottes de Naours.

 

M. Roland Goddard

Roland s'est engagé le 22 septembre 1914 dans le Depot Unit des fournitures N° 2. Il a embarqué le 22 décembre 1914, à bord du HMAT A35 Berrima. Il a survécu à débarquement à Gallipoli et il a été blessé durant la 1ère guerre mondiale à Villers-Bretonneux. Durant la seconde guerre mondiale, il a servi d'agent de liaison dans avec l'Armée Britannique.

Roland Goddard a géré plusieurs commerces dans la région d'Amiens. Tout d'abord il a géré un magasin à Villers-Bretonneux appelé à "La ville de Melbourne". C'était un magasin pour la vente de vêtements.

Il a géré aussi plus tard un commerce près du marché d' Amiens dédié à la vente de vêtements pour enfants. Le magasin était appelé à la "tentation des Mamans".

Quand les Allemands ont envahis la France, ils ont dû abandonner tout ce qu'ils possédaient. Plus tard, ils ont ouvert l'Hotel Anzac situé près de la gare, après la seconde guerre mondiale. L'hôtel, rue Debray était un hotel agréable et sa femme Isobel y cuisinait des déliceux plats.

La reconstruction de cette histoire a été possible après quelques échanges avec la famille. Merci Jeff pour ce partage.

shop at Villers-Bretonneux

Magasin de vêtements à Villers-Bretonneux. "A la ville de Melbourne !"

Amiens-trade

Roland et sa femme. Vous pouvez lire sur la fourgonette : "Pour Enfant" et "confectionnés". Le magasin était localisé sur la place du marché. A mon humble avis, près du Befroy, lieu connu depuis longtemps pour être un lieu de marché à Amiens. Ce monument a été reconstruit un peu plus loin après la guerre.

rg

Roland GODDARD

rue-Debray

L'entrée de l'hôtel était située au niveau de la porte grise.